DIE BESTEN GEDICHTE DES CHARLES BUKOWSKI (TEIL 44): TO JANE COONEY BAKER

x

bukkk2

x

DIE BESTEN GEDICHTE DES

x

CHARLES BUKOWSKI

(TEIL 44)

x

TO JANE COONEY BAKER

x

hc44

x

And so you go

leaving me here

in a room with a torn shade.

x

And so you left quickly

as you arrived to me,

and we have said goodbyes before,

and as I wiped your face and lips

you opened the largest eyes I have yet to see

and said „I might have known

it would be you“ … you did see me

but not long

and an old man of white thin legs

said „I don’t want to die“

and your blood came again

and I held it in the pail of my hands,

all that was left

of the nights, and the days too,

and the old man was still alive

but we were not

we are not.

x

And you went as you arrived,

you left me quickly,

you left me many times before

when I thought it would kill

but it did not

and you returned.

x

Now I have turned off the red radio

and somebody in the next apartment slams a door.

I will not find you on the street

or will the phone ring, and yet each moment will not

let me be.

x

It is not enough that there are many deaths

and that this is not the first;

it is not enough that I may live more days,

maybe, more years.

x

It is not enough.

The phone is like a dead animal that will

not speak. It has spoken

but always the wrong voice now.

x

I have waited before and you have walked through

the door. Now you must wait for me.

x

hc6

x

Kommentar verfassen

